50th Annual Meeting

July 10-12, 2018 * Williamsburg, VA

Thank you for supporting the 2018 Annual Meeting.  The outstanding program and Williamsburg venue drew 401 attendees.  Scientists from every U.S. peanut producing state and 12 countries presented 144 scientific papers.  The General Session and the Symposium on Industry Challenges of the Next 50 Years were standing room room only.  Joe Sugg Graduate Student Oral Presenation Competition attracted 17 competitors from 5 universities.  Two new activities were added to the APRES Program for graduate students–a poster competition and student luncheon.  Fun and fellowship were in great supply for the 50th Year at the Ice Cream Social, Reception and Dinner.  Mr. Peanut™ and Buddy McNutty entertained attendees. A huge thanks to the APRES Board of Directors, Annual Meeting Program Committee, and our great group of Sponsors who made this all possible!

2018-19 Board Elected

Dr. Rick Brandenburg, North Carolina State University

Barry Tillman, University of Florida

Past President:
Peter Dotray, Texas A&M AgriLife Research &
Texas Tech University


Steve Brown, American Peanut Council
Darlene Cowart, Birdsong Peanuts
Marshall Lamb, USDA/ARS
Chris Liebold, The J.M. Smucker Company
Peggy Ozias-Akins, University of Georgia
Gary Schwarzlose, Bayer
Barbara Shew, NC State University
Dan Ward, National Peanut Board
Jason Woodward, Texas A&M University

A huge thanks to outgoing Board members Wilson Faircloth and C. Corley Holbrook for their support and guidance.

2018 Sponsors

Monday Tour and Dinner
Birdsong Peanuts

Virginia Peanut Growers Association

Awards Reception
Corteva Agriscience™, Agriculture Division of DowDupont

Spouses Hospitality Suite

Meeting Breaks
National Peanut Board


Ice Cream Social
Golden Peanut & Tree Nuts
National Peanut Buying Points Association
Nichino America
North Carolina Peanut Growers Association
Premium Peanut
The J. M. Smucker Company
U.S. Gypsum
Virginia Peanut Growers Association

Spouses’ Program
American Peanut Council

Joe Sugg Graduate Student Competition
North Carolina Peanut Growers Association

Graduate Student Luncheon

Fun Run
JLA, Inc.

Registration Bags & Lanyards
Visjon Biologics

Verdesian Life Sciences

Peanut Snacks
Alabama Peanut Producers Association

Florida Peanut Producers Association

Georgia Peanut Commission

Hampton Farms

Hershey’s Chocolate

Hub’s Peanuts


Mars Wrigley Confectionery

Mississippi Peanut Growers Association

North Carolina Peanut Growers Association

The J.M. Smucker Company

Severn Peanut Company

South Carolina Peanut Board

Texas Peanut Producers Board

Virginia Diner Peanuts

Virginia Peanut Growers Association

Professional Recognition

Coyt T. Wilson
Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Craig K. Kvien, University of Georgia

Bailey Award

Best Paper of the 2018 Annual Meeting was awarded to:

Dr. Mark Burow, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Texas Tech University
(Presenting Author)
R. Chropra, R. Kulkarni, T. Tengey, V. Belamkar, Texas Tech University, Dept. of Plant and Soil Science, Lubbock, TX 79409; J. Chagoya, J. Wilson, M. G. Selvaraj, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Lubbock, TX 79403; C. E. Simpson, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Stephenville, TX 76401; M. R. Baring, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, College Station, TX 77843;  F, Neya, P. Sankara, Université Ouaga I Prof. Joseph Ki-Zerbo, Département de Phytopathologie, Ouagadougou 03, Burkina Faso; Nicholas Denwar, Savannah Agricultural Research Institute, Tamale, Ghana.

for their paper:

Development of SNP-based Molecular Markers for a Peanut Breeding Program

Corteva Agriscience™,
Agricultural Division of DowDuPont™
Award for Excellence in Education

Dr. Peggy Ozias-Akins, University of Georgia

Corteva Agriscience™,
Agricultural Division of DowDuPont™
Award for Excellence in Research

Dr. Barry Tillman, University of Florida

Joe Sugg Graduate Student
Oral Presentation Competition

1st PlaceDennis J. Mahoney, North Carolina State University
Presence and Distribution of Suspected Palmer Amaranth Resistant to PPO)Inhibiting Herbicides North Carolina Coastal Plain

2nd Place – Kayla M. Eason, The University of Georgia
Peanut and Weed Response to Postemergence Herbicide Tank-Mixtures Utilizing Paraquat

3rd Place –Samuele Lamon, The University of Georgia Genotypic and Phenotypic Characterization of Peanut Lines with Interspecific Introgressions Conferring Late Leaf Spot Resistance

National Peanut Board
Graduate Student Poster Competition

1st PlaceCaleb C. Weaver, The University of Georgia
The Effect of Storage on Peanut Seed Quality

2nd PlaceJ. Mitch Haynes, Clemson University
Augmentation of In-furrow Insecticides with Super-absorbent Polymer to Combat Spotted Wilt of Peanut

2019 Annual Meeting

July 9-11, 2019
The Hotel at Auburn University
& Dixon Conference Center
Auburn, AL

Plan to Join Us!


2018 Sponsors

Who we are...